### Great Basin College FACULTY SENATE 2023-2024 Friday, September 15, 2023 9:00 am

Elko –GTA 130; Ely – GBC 118; Pahrump- PVC 122; Winnemucca – GBC 123/124.

# To Join Zoom Meeting Contact Dave Sexton for Zoom Information

#### **AGENDA**

1.	Roll Call								
2.	Call to Order								
3.	Updates from President Helens –								
4.	Updates from Vice President of AA/SA, Jake Hinton-Rivera –								
5.	Senate Chair Report - Verbal Report								
6.	Approval of April 21, 2023 minutes and May 19, 2023 minutes - For Possible Action								
7.	Standing Committee Reports:  a. Academic Standards & Assessment	No Report Written Report Written Report No Report No Report							
8.	Unfinished Business:								
9.	New Business:  i. Election of the Parliamentarian for 2023-2024.  ii. Faculty Senate Committee Review  iii. Formation of the ad hoc Al Committee.								
10.	Information Items:								
11.	Announcements:								
12.	Good of the Order:								
13.	Adjournment	Action							

Compensation and Benefits Committee Minutes

September 1, 2023, 9:00 AM

Attendance: Tom Bruns, Milinda Wasala, Eleanor O'Donnell, Konstantinos Travlos, Rita Pujari, Steven Scilacci, Kara Coates, Matt Nichols, John Rice, Chair. All members in attendance

#### Agenda

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Review of last year's accomplishments
- 3. Work Plan for 23-24
- 4. Matters from the Committee for consideration

#### Report

- 1. **Welcome**. Returning members were thanked for their service to the committee and the senate last year.
- **2. Review of last year's accomplishments.** The committee heard a review of last year's action items. Eleanor reported that the action items pertaining to overload pay were implemented and that the new pay schedule for overload will be used in calculating overload compensation beginning this semester.
- 3. Work Plan for 23-24 The committee will review the following items in upcoming meetings:
  - a. Independent Study Policy
  - b. Comparison of GBC workload policy to workload contract agreements from sister institutions, CSN, TMCC and WNC. The contracts for those three institutions are attached to this report for information.
  - c. Other matters as they are brought before the committee.
- 4. Matters from the Committee for consideration The committee was asked to examine a couple of unique matters pertaining to CTE workload regarding compensation for teaching multiple "shifts" and retirement payments based on overload. The committee will determine whether these matters warrant consideration. The committee also noted that as of its meeting time, Leadership Council Minutes had not been updated since January 2022. The committee wishes to remind Faculty Senate that Leadership Council has an obligation to post those minutes in a timely matter. The committee also notes the consistent and persistent failure of Leadership Council to fulfill its obligation to report its actions to the institution.

Links to CSN, TMCC and WNC contracts:

CSN: <a href="https://nshe.nevada.edu/wp-content/uploads/file/BoardOfRegents/Agendas/2022/12-dec-mtgs/bor-refs/BOR-5.pdf">https://nshe.nevada.edu/wp-content/uploads/file/BoardOfRegents/Agendas/2022/12-dec-mtgs/bor-refs/BOR-5.pdf</a>

TMCC: <a href="https://nshe.nevada.edu/wp-content/uploads/file/BoardOfRegents/Agendas/2022/12-dec-mtgs/bor-refs/BOR-6.pdf">https://nshe.nevada.edu/wp-content/uploads/file/BoardOfRegents/Agendas/2022/12-dec-mtgs/bor-refs/BOR-6.pdf</a>

 $WNC: \underline{https://www.nevadafacultyalliance.org/resources/Documents/Collective\% \underline{20Bar} \\ \underline{gaining\%20Agreements/WNC\%20CBA\%202019.pdf}$ 

#### WNC Contract Extension:

https://www.nevadafacultyalliance.org/resources/Documents/Collective%20Bargaining%20Agreements/WNC-NFA%20Contract%20Extension%202022-11%20BOR-5.pdf

Respectfully Submitted,

John Patrick Rice, Ph.D.

Chair

### Curriculum Review Committee Report

8/31/23

The committee recommended for approval the following new program:

• Skills Certificate in Community Paramedicine



# **August 2023 GBC Personnel Committee Report**

\_

## **Updates**

## **August Meeting**

• No August meeting held

## **Upcoming Meetings**

- Personnel Committee will meet on September 20, 2023 at 11 am
  - Topics to be discussed in meeting:
    - Training for search committee members
    - Standard document for strengths/weaknesses
    - Search committee request process
    - Tenure policy action

## **Important Dates**

Sep 20, 2023 11:00 AM - September GBC Personnel Committee meeting

2023-2024 Faculty Committees											
Faculty Senate Standing Committees											
Academic Standards & Assessments	Bylaws	Compensation & Benefits	Curriculum Review	General Education	Instructional Technology	Personnel					
Daniel Murphree, Chair	Laurie Walsh, Chair	John Rice, Chair	Dorothy Callander, Chair	Ethan Hawkley, Chair	Jonathan Foster, Chair	Arysta Sweat, Chair					
Susanne Bentley	Nick Cooley	Thomas Bruns	Krishna Subedi	Daniel Bergey	Madison Arbillaga	Eri ca Salazar					
Eric Andersen	Daniel Bergey	Milinda Wasala	Jamie Wilkerson	Ping Wang	Michelle Husbands	George Kleeb					
Glen Tenney	Twany Crum	Eleanor O'Donnell	Gerardo Wence-Munoz	Brian Ziesler	Jennifer Stieger	Jessica Johnson					
Yvonne Naungayan	Becky Coleman	Konstantinos Travlos	Bri an Dankowski	Tami Mette	Eric Walsh	Jason Brick					
Dean Straight	Kevin Seipp	Rita Pujari	Jamie Wilkerson	John Rice	Xunming Du	Xunming Du					
Sheila Staszak		Steven Scilacci	David Freistroffer	Thomas Bruns	Robert Hunton	Mardell Dorsa					
Steven Hrdlicka		Mathew Nichols	David Antonini	Brandy Nielsen	Jessica Lynch	Tim Beasley					
Staci Warnert			Sam Lackey	[	Reme Huttman	Mike McGhee					
Stephanie Davis		/	Adriana Mendez	(	Robert Cowan						
Kara Coates		, <u> </u>	Di Li	<u> </u>							
		,		ı							
	<u> </u>	,	<u> "</u>	<u>,                                    </u>	<u> </u>						
		( <u> </u>	Deanna Hamilton (Ex-Officio)								
Mary Doucette (Ex-Officio)	(Ex-Officio)	(Ex-Officio)	Cheyenne Stocks (Ex-Officio)	Deanna Hamilton (Ex-Officio)	Karl Stevens (Ex-Officio)	(Ex-Officio)					

Advisory Boards & Groups									
	Campus Safety	Child Care Center	Continuing Education	Equipment Awards					
Accreditation, ad hoc	Advisory Group	Advisory Group	Advisory Group	Advisory Group	IDEAS				
				Tami Potter, Chair					
	Jessica Lynch	Lynette MacFarlan	Jennifer Stieger	Earl Owen	Brenda Gonzales				
	Sheri Baker		Laura Debenham	Eric Anderson	Erica Salazar				
	Hillary Fruge		Gail Rappa	Norm Whittaker	Lizette Lyon				
	Brittney Maynard	Kim Noah	Di Li	Dwaine Hiles	Adriana Mendez				
	Roger Quijada	Rebecca Hawkley		Me lissa Gerber					
	Stacy Crouch			Anthony Cooney					
				Sheree Beard					
(Ex-Officio)	(Ex-Officio)	(Ex-Officio)	(Ex-Officio)	(Ex-Officio)	(Ex-Officio)				
Library Advisory	Revitilization	Student Enrollment	Student Relations	Teacher Education	Veterans				
Group	Task Force	Advisory Group	Advisory Group	Advisory Board	Advisory Group				
Josh Webster, Chair		Kristin Heath, Chair	Tawny Crum, Chair	Brian Zeiszler, Chair	John Green, Chair				
Gina Johnson		Brandy Nielsen	Mike McGhee	Denise Padilla	Meachell Walsh				
Nick Cooley		Becky Cole man	Carrie Meisner	Kimberly Noah	Robert Hunton				
Veronica Nelson		John Mittelman	Veronica Nelson	Nick Cooley	Adriana Mendez				
Gail Rappa		Dawn Horton	Laura Debenham	Madison Arbillaga	Jeffery Hills				
Steve Hrdlicka			Adriana Mendez	Jenny Ahlvers					
James Stugelmayer			Scott Nielsen	Ping Wang					
Frank Swayer			Trina Castonguay	Dave Sexton					
			Amber Cannon	Michelle Beecher					
4	II h	1		u ,	<b>1</b>				